Tanzania

Tanzania · Africa · updated 24.08.2026

Tanzania splits the right to reside in the country and the right to work between two authorities: the Immigration Service issues residence permits in three classes (A — investors and the self-employed, B — employees under a specific job offer, C — other grounds) under the Immigration Act, 1995, while the Labour Commissioner under the ministry responsible for employment issues a separate work permit in one of five classes (A–E, for investors, holders of in-demand professions, other professions, religious/charitable activity, and refugees) under the Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, 2015; legal paid employment requires both documents at once. Residence permits are capped by default at five years total (three years plus a renewal of up to two), and no separate permanent-residence status has been established between this term and citizenship — the only exception found covers a narrow category of major investors after 10 years of residence. Naturalisation requires practically 8 years of residence (the year immediately before filing plus at least 7 of the preceding 10 years), knowledge of Swahili or English, and renunciation of prior citizenship: dual citizenship is not permitted by law. Zanzibar is an autonomous part of the Union Republic: the law explicitly provides for additional entry and residence rules there, set with the consent of the President of Zanzibar, separate from the mainland's. The guide's five cities reflect both the largest population centres (Dar es Salaam — the country's commercial and technology centre, Mwanza — the second-largest city on Lake Victoria), the official capital, Dodoma, and two key inbound tourism destinations — Arusha (the gateway to the Serengeti and Kilimanjaro) and Zanzibar City with Stone Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Some descriptions for this country are still Russian only: 78% translated. Numbers, prices and timelines are complete.

Entry

Entry rules depend on citizenship. Choose a passport to see the requirement for that one.

Work and visas

Visa speed
The only officially found statutory deadline for residence permits is 14 days for the Director's decision on applications submitted through the Tanzania Investment Centre by a holder of an investment-incentive certificate (art. 18(5), Immigration Act, 1995); no statutory deadline exists for ordinary applications outside TIC. For work permits, the initial processing time is not fixed in days by article 11 of the Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, 2015 ('immediately... inform the applicant... of his decision', with no numeric standard); only a minimum filing deadline for a RENEWAL application is set — no later than 60 days before the current permit expires (art. 10(7), 2025 amendment). **Supplemented on 24 August 2026 from the department's client service charter.** The agency publishes issuing times by class separately: residence permit class A — fourteen WORKING days, class B — seven working days, class C — seven working days. The exemption certificate and the dependant pass — five working days; endorsing a dependant on a permit already issued — the same day. The figures are recorded as printed, and the caveat about working days is here. The charter says nothing about student passes or the migrant pass, so their time is marked unpublished. The charter is laid out as a table with shifted columns: row labels and values sit in different vertical blocks. For classes A, B and C the pairing is unambiguous — the class labels are printed next to the times. For the exemption certificate and the dependant pass the correspondence was restored by row order, and little restoring was needed: both rows carry the same value — five working days.
Changing employer
No, for the Class B residence permit and the work permit: both are tied to the specific employer and occupation stated on the permit. A Class B residence permit is cancelled immediately if the holder ceases the stated employment or engages in other paid activity (art. 20(3), Immigration Act, 1995); the employer must notify an immigration officer within 30 days. The work permit is 'non-transferable and valid only for the purpose for which it was issued' (art. 12(3), Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, 2015); when a permit of a different class is obtained, the previous one must be surrendered to the Labour Commissioner (art. 13(3)).

Visa types: On mainland Tanzania, the residence permit (issued by the Immigration Service under the Ministry of Home Affairs pursuant to the Immigration Act, 1995, Cap. 54) and the work permit (issued by the Labour Commissioner under the Ministry of Labour pursuant to the Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, 2015, Cap. 436) are two separate documents from two different authorities; legal paid employment requires both at the same time (confirmed by court practice, e.g. TZCA 17567 (2023), TZHC 247 (2023), TZHCLD 1163 (2022)) · Residence permit Class A (art. 19, Immigration Act, 1995) — for a person conducting trade, business, a profession, agriculture, livestock farming, mineral prospecting, or manufacturing on their own or in partnership; financial security (a deposit or guarantee from one or more sureties) is required in case of repatriation of the holder, wife, and dependent children; after 10 or more years of residence with an 'immeasurable' contribution to the economy, it may, at the Director's discretion, be renewed for a further term without the general 5-year cap (art. 19(4)) — this is the only officially found exception to the general term limit · Residence permit Class B (art. 20, Immigration Act, 1995) — for a person offered a specific job with a specific employer in Tanzania whose employment is deemed beneficial to the country; the employer must provide security before the holder and their dependants enter; the permit is cancelled if the holder ceases the stated employment or engages in other paid activity — changing employer requires a new permit · Residence permit Class C (art. 21, Immigration Act, 1995) — a residence permit for a person not falling under Class A or B; the conditions are set individually at the Director's discretion; an official list of typical grounds (students, researchers, etc.) is not detailed in the text of the Act itself — it is likely detailed in the Immigration (Rights and Privileges) Regulations, 2022 (GN 138 of 2022), whose text did not open either on tanzlii.org (Cloudflare block on every method tried — direct request, WebFetch, Wayback Machine cache, proxy) or on immigration.go.tz (a JS application without server-side rendering, content unavailable for automated collection) · All Class A/B/C residence permits are issued for up to 3 years with a renewal of up to 2 years, but no more than 5 years total per permit (art. 18(2), Immigration Act, 1995), with a specifically noted exception for major investors under Class A (see above) · Work permit (a work permit, art. 13, Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, 2015) — five classes: Class A for a foreign self-employed investor ($1,000 — Fifth Schedule); Class B for a person in a 'prescribed profession' — medical and health workers, oil-and-gas specialists, teachers and lecturers of mathematics and the sciences ($500); Class C for other professions ($1,000); Class D for those engaged in registered religious or charitable activity ($500); Class E for refugees (free of charge) · The work permit is issued for 24 months and is renewable; the total term of the initial issue plus renewals must not exceed 8 years (art. 12(4)); for an investor with a large contribution to the economy, the term may exceed 10 years (art. 12(5)); for a refugee, the permit remains valid for as long as refugee status is retained (art. 12(6), 2025 amendment) · Holders of a Tanzania Investment Centre investment-incentive certificate receive an automatic immigrant quota of up to 5 people at project start-up (art. 18(4), Immigration Act, 1995); for applications submitted through TIC, the Director must issue the permit or state reasons for refusal within 14 days of receiving the application (art. 18(5)) — this is the only officially found statutory processing deadline for residence permits · Zanzibar is an autonomous part of Tanzania with its own immigration administration: the Immigration Act, 1995 (a Union law) explicitly provides that the Minister may — only with the consent of the President of Zanzibar — set additional entry and exit rules for visitors to Zanzibar (art. 15(8)), and a residence permit issued under this Act to a person heading to Zanzibar is subject to these additional conditions (art. 22(3)); the Act also separately mentions the Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar as a distinct employer of civil servants (art. 15(5)(d)) — meaning mainland residence rules do not apply in full on Zanzibar. The dedicated site zanzibarimmigration.go.tz does not resolve (NXDOMAIN), the zanzibarlii.org legislation database returns "No documents found" for immigration, and the investment portal zipa.go.tz is a JS application without server-side rendering: it was not possible in this session to confirm the details of the Zanzibar procedure (its own permit classes, property-ownership rules) with a separate document from the Zanzibar side

The residence permit (who may live in the country) and the work permit (who may work) are issued separately, by two different authorities: the Immigration Service (immigration.go.tz) falls under the Ministry of Home Affairs and operates under the Immigration Act, 1995 (Cap. 54); work permits are issued by the Labour Commissioner under the ministry responsible for labour and employment (kazi.go.tz — the domain's certificate does not match the hostname, access failed by every method tried), under the Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, 2015 (Cap. 436). Full texts of both acts and the Tanzania Citizenship Act, 1995 (Cap. 357) were obtained from tanzlii.org via Wayback Machine archive copies (the tanzlii.org site returns an interactive Cloudflare check for all direct requests to document texts — only its list and search pages worked, not the documents themselves). The required level of English and any specific diploma requirement are not explicitly stated anywhere in the texts of either act: Swahili and English are official languages, and knowledge of one of them is required only for NATURALISATION (see residency.languageRequired), not for obtaining permits. **Supplemented on 24 August 2026: 28 grounds collected.** The earlier caveat about a “JS site unavailable for collection” has been removed — it was true of the markup and false of the content. The site is indeed a React application and serves curl 806 bytes of empty shell, but all of its text lies in an open CMS-API on the same domain: `POST /websiteportal/cms/info/by-category` with the body `{"CategoryId": N}` — category 8 returns 49 reference sections, category 9 the four PDFs of the e-library, category 4 the service cards. No key and no authorisation are required; a GET to the same addresses answers “HTTP method not allowed”. The residence permit guidelines and the client service charter are PDFs with a readable text layer. **How the status is arranged.** The country has two long-term channels: the residence permit (21 categories) and the pass, of several kinds. The residence permit splits into the three classes of the Immigration Act, 1995 — A for self-employed investors, B for employed specialists, C for everyone else — and within those classes the department keeps its OWN matrix of twenty-one codes: A-1…A-4, B-1…B-4, C-1…C-13. The matrix is published both in the site's reference section and in the residence permit guidelines; the Act says nothing of it — the codes are the agency's own administrative division. **The term is set as a ceiling, not as a length.** Article 18(2) of the Act: a permit is issued for a period of no more than THREE years, renewed for no more than two years at a time, and one permit with its renewals may not in total run longer than FIVE years. The term field carries the ceiling of 36 months — what the norm prints; the particular length within it is set by the Commissioner General and the agency does not publish it. There is one exception: class B-3 is defined by the department itself as employment “for a period of not more than six months”, and there 6 stands. Passes have their own published ceiling: “the maximum validity for all types of passes shall not exceed two years”. **There is no permanent residence in the country.** The Immigration Act knows no separate indefinite status between the fixed-term permit and citizenship, so the field “does the time count towards permanent residence” is empty on every ground: there is nothing for it to count towards. The nearest thing is article 19(4): a person resident for ten years or more whose contribution to the economy through trade, manufacture, agriculture or mineral prospecting is “immense or of great value” may be granted a further class A permit by the Director for a period of the Director's choosing. That is still a fixed-term permit, not a residence status. **The fee depends on nationality, and that is printed as a separate column.** The tariff keeps up to four price columns: the ordinary one, one for citizens of the East African Community (usually half), one for the diaspora, and a separate re-entry pass line — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant on top of the main fee. The numeric field carries the ordinary price; the reduced ones are named in the basis of the fee. The only line free in all four columns is C-12, refugees. **The pass prices cannot be verified at their address.** The pass tariff (dependant pass 550, business pass 200, interim pass 600, student pass I 200, student pass II 100, migrant pass 10,000 shillings) is published ONLY as a CMS-API response to a POST request: there is no separate pass PDF in the e-library, and the site's page serves an empty shell. On those five grounds the fee address points at the services page, and the machine check says honestly “the page is empty” — the figure comes from the same agency's API, but does not stand at the address. The residence permit prices need no such caveat: they are in the PDF guidelines. **What is not among the grounds.** The Business Pass (short assignments such as auditing, fixing a machine, feasibility studies), the Special Pass for EAC citizens (no more than ninety days), the Seasonal Migrant Pass (seasonal work), the Interim Pass (a bridge while a permit application is determined), the Landing Pass, Visitor Pass, Re-Entry Pass, In Transit Pass and KaribuPass — all are either shorter than three months or ancillary. Of the entry visas only one is among the grounds: the student visa for programmes longer than 90 days. The rest are capped at three consecutive months, the annual multiple-entry visa included — there the year is the validity, not the stay.

Long-term visas and residence permits

Residence Permit Class A-1 — professional artist investor

Investment
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 1 000processing 14 days
Fee: 1,000 dollars. Citizens of the East African Community pay half; the tariff's separate column is headed “Fees for citizens of EAC”. For EAC citizens — 500. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class A-2 — diaspora investor

Investment
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 1 000processing 14 days
Fee: 1,000 dollars. There is no reduced price for EAC citizens on this line — the tariff prints a dash. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class A-3 — other sector investor

Investment
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 3 000processing 14 days
Fee: 3,000 dollars — the top of the scale. Citizens of the East African Community pay half; the tariff's separate column is headed “Fees for citizens of EAC”. For EAC citizens — 1,500. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class A-4 — refugee investor

Investment
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 1 500processing 14 days
Fee: 1,500 dollars — the same for everyone and for EAC citizens; there is no relief on this line. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class B-1 — specific employment by specific employer

Work
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 2 000processing 7 days
Fee: 2,000 dollars — the most expensive employment line. Citizens of the East African Community pay half; the tariff's separate column is headed “Fees for citizens of EAC”. For EAC citizens — 500. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class B-2 — specific employment (diaspora)

Work
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: 500 dollars — a quarter of the ordinary class B price. There is no separate relief for EAC citizens on this line: the tariff prints a dash. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class B-3 — short-term specific employment

Work
term 6 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: 500 dollars; for EAC citizens and for the diaspora — 250. On this single line the re-entry pass costs not 50 but 250 dollars.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class B-4 — specific employment (refugees)

Work
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: 500 dollars across all three columns of the tariff — ordinary, EAC and diaspora. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-1 — researchers

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: 500 dollars; for EAC citizens and for the diaspora — 250. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-2 — retired persons

Retirement
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: on the same terms as the ground above.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-3 — approved religious activities

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 200processing 7 days
Fee: 200 dollars; for EAC citizens and for the diaspora — 100. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-4 — winding up affairs

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 200processing 7 days
Fee: on the same terms as the ground above.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-5 — volunteers

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 200processing 7 days
Fee: on the same terms as the ground above.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-6 — medical treatment

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 200processing 7 days
Fee: on the same terms as the ground above.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-7 — NGO employees

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: 500 dollars; for EAC citizens and for the diaspora — 250. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-8 — parties and witnesses in courts and tribunals

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: on the same terms as the ground above.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-9 — interns

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 200processing 7 days
Fee: 200 dollars; for EAC citizens and for the diaspora — 100. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-10 — professional artists

Talent
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: 500 dollars; for EAC citizens and for the diaspora — 250. A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-11 — buyers of real estate

Investment
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedincome from $ 100 000fee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: on the same terms as the ground above.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-12 — refugees

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 0,00processing 7 days
Fee: Free: the tariff prints Gratis in all four columns, the re-entry pass included.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Residence Permit Class C-13 — others

Other
term 36 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 500processing 7 days
Fee: 500 dollars; for EAC citizens — 250, for the diaspora — free (this line prints Gratis). A re-entry pass is paid for separately and on top of the fee — 50 dollars for the applicant and for each dependant.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Dependant Pass

Family
term 24 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 550processing 5 days
Fee: 550 dollars; for citizens of the East African Community — 300. The figure stands in a table the department's site serves not as markup but as a response from its own CMS-API to a POST request — it cannot be verified at the page's address.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Dependant Pass — foreign wife of a Tanzanian husband

Family
term 24 morenewablefamily allowedfee 200 000 TZSprocessing 5 days
Fee: 200,000 Tanzanian shillings — a separate line of the tariff, the only family one in the national currency. The figure stands in a table the site serves as a CMS-API response to a POST request, not as page markup.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Student Pass I

Study
term 24 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 200processing time not published
Fee: 200 dollars; free (Gratis) for citizens of the East African Community. The figure stands in a table the site serves as a CMS-API response to a POST request, not as page markup.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Student Pass II

Study
term 24 morenewablefamily allowedfee $ 100processing time not published
Fee: 100 dollars; free (Gratis) for citizens of the East African Community. The figure stands in a table the site serves as a CMS-API response to a POST request, not as page markup.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Migrant Pass

Other
term 24 morenewablefamily allowedfee 10 000 TZSprocessing time not published
Fee: 10,000 Tanzanian shillings — the dollar columns of the tariff print N/A on this line. The figure stands in a table the site serves as a CMS-API response to a POST request, not as page markup.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Exemption Certificate

Other
renewablefamily allowedfee $ 0,00processing 5 days
Fee: Free: the department writes it plainly — “No fee is paid for the Exemption Certificate”.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Student Visa — programmes longer than 90 days

Study
renewablefamily allowedfee $ 250processing time not published
Fee: 250 dollars for the category “programme longer than 90 days”; for a programme up to 90 days — 50. The requirements list in the same guideline names THREE prices — 50, 250 and 550 dollars “depending on the category and duration” — but describes the third category nowhere; the summary fee table in the PDF is laid out with shifted columns and reads ambiguously. Recorded here is the price standing in the text beside the words “exceed 90 days”.
official source · read 2026-08-24

Programme terms change, and the final decision rests with the consulate or the country migration service. The data is collected from official sources on the date shown and is not legal advice.

Residence and citizenship

Permanent residence after
no permanent status exists
Citizenship after
8 years
Language
Adequate knowledge of Swahili or English is a naturalisation requirement (Second Schedule, para. 1(c) to the Tanzania Citizenship Act, 1995). No language requirement was found in the text of the Immigration Act, 1995 for obtaining residence permits (Class A/B/C).
Dual citizenship
not allowed

Dual citizenship: Dual citizenship is not permitted. Section 7 of the Tanzania Citizenship Act, 1995 is explicitly titled 'Cessation of dual citizenship': a Tanzanian citizen who acquires the citizenship of another country is deemed to have lost citizenship of the Union Republic as of a set date, unless they had already renounced the other citizenship, taken an oath of allegiance, and (for citizens by birth) filed a declaration of intent to reside in the country (art. 7, 240–248). Symmetrically for naturalisation: a person who is a citizen of another country may not be naturalised as a citizen of Tanzania unless they renounce the other citizenship and take an oath of allegiance (art. 9(3), 248); if renunciation is not possible under the other country's laws, a statutory declaration is made instead (art. 250).

Absence limits: The Immigration Act, 1995 sets no numeric limit on absence. Two rules of a different kind apply. The first is article 28(6): if the holder of a class A, B or C permit leaves Tanzania FOR GOOD, the permit is cancelled by an immigration officer and the holder must surrender it for cancellation. What counts as leaving for good the Act does not define — that is an officer's judgement, not a term in days. The second is the re-entry pass: to travel abroad and return, a resident takes out a separate pass for coming back, and it is paid for — 50 dollars for the resident and for each dependant, and 250 on the short-term class B-3 permit. The charge is on top of the fee for the permit itself.

No separate "permanent residence" status between the fixed-term residence permit and citizenship is found in the Immigration Act, 1995 (Cap. 54): all three classes of residence permit (A/B/C) are issued for up to 3 years and extended for up to 2 more, but for no more than 5 years in total on one permit (s. 18(2)) — once it runs out the holder must apply afresh rather than passing automatically to an open-ended status. The only exception found officially is that a Class A holder (investors and the self-employed), after 10 or more years of residence and with an "immeasurable" contribution to the economy, may at the Director's discretion receive a new permit free of the general 5-year ceiling (s. 19(4)); that is not a separate permanent-residence category but a discretionary extension for a narrow group of holders, so residency.prYears is left empty rather than filled with 10 by analogy. The Immigration (Rights and Privileges) Regulations, 2022 (GN 138 of 2022) — the one instrument that could in principle have introduced a separate permanent-residence category — still could not be read, but on 8 August 2026 the obstacle was pinned down more precisely. The tanzlii.org domain answers and serves the legislation listings: the instrument was found in them and identified at /en/akn/tz/act/gn/2022/138/eng@2022-03-18. What the Cloudflare check closes off is the document pages specifically — the HTML, /source.pdf and /source alike. Meanwhile the media host media.tanzlii.org is open and serves PDFs directly with no check at all (verified on immigration-visa-amendment-regulations-2025.pdf, 223 KB). The trouble is that its addresses, of the form /media/legislation/<id>/source_file/<hash>/<name>.pdf, contain an id and a hash printed only by the closed document page, and this file is not in the Wayback archive. Hence: the empty prYears reflects the inaccessibility of that particular instrument, whereas the prAbsent flag rests not on it but on sections 18(2) and 19(4) of the Act as read. Naturalisation follows the Tanzania Citizenship Act, 1995 (Cap. 357), Second Schedule (s. 9(1)): the applicant must have lived in Tanzania continuously for the whole year (12 months) immediately preceding the application, and for at least 7 years in aggregate out of the 10 years preceding that year — roughly 8 years of residence by the time of filing; adequate knowledge of Swahili or English, good repute, a contribution to the national economy, science or culture, and the intention to reside permanently in Tanzania after naturalisation are also required.

Documents

Document certification
consular legalisation

The country does not accept apostilles: documents go through consular legalisation in three steps — ministry of justice, foreign ministry, consulate.

Family

Partner

Timeline
not officially published
Right to work
no

The mechanism is endorsement: on application by the residence permit holder or applicant, the Director may add the name of a wife and dependent children to the holder's own residence permit (art. 25(1), Immigration Act, 1995); a separate 'Dependant's Pass' as a standalone document (unlike in Kenya) was not found in the text of the Act — endorsement onto the same holder's permit is used instead. The endorsement automatically ceases one month after the permit holder's death, the end of the marriage, or the loss of dependant status (art. 25(2)), and the endorsed person's presence in Tanzania after that becomes unlawful unless otherwise re-arranged. Endorsement by itself does not confer the right to work: art. 16(1) of the Act requires a permit specifically for paid employment ('under an employer resident in Tanzania') for any person, and art. 15(6) separately confirms, for another category of dependants (exempted from the usual requirements), that a wife or child may not engage in employment, business, or a profession without a separately obtained residence permit for that purpose — by analogy, the same applies to endorsed dependants of Class A/B/C holders: legal paid employment requires a separate permit of one's own (and, under the Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, 2015, a separate work permit). No official standard processing time could be found for an endorsement application or for a residence permit based on marriage to a Tanzanian citizen: neither the Immigration Act, 1995 nor the available text of the Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, 2015 states such a deadline; the Immigration (Rights and Privileges) Regulations, 2022 (GN 138 of 2022), where such a standard might have been set, did not open by any method tried (see work.notes).

Parents

Partner's parents

Pets

Limit
no limit
Antibody titre test
not needed

The authority, mifugouvuvi.go.tz (Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries), does not publish a dedicated page or document on importing pets; only the tariff for importing/exporting dogs and cats is officially confirmed — 50,000 Tanzanian shillings per animal (Thirteenth Schedule, item 7) and a fee for holding at a quarantine ground/entry point — 500 shillings per day for a dog/cat (Fifteenth Schedule, item 3) — both under the Animal Diseases (Animals and Animal Products Movement Control) Regulations (made under art. 65 of the Animal Diseases Act, Cap. 156; the tariff schedules in force are from the GN 478C of 2022 and GN 489A of 2020 amendments, mifugouvuvi.go.tz/publications/regulations). The existence of a fee for a quarantine ground confirms that such facilities for dogs/cats are provided for, but this document does not state a mandatory quarantine PERIOD for an ordinary pet import — only a daily charge for actual use, so quarantineDays is left empty rather than filled in with an arbitrary period. Detailed veterinary requirements were reconstructed from the receiving country's rules as seen by the sending side: UK APHA, "Export of Cats and Dogs from the United Kingdom to Tanzania — Notes for Guidance" (form 3129NFG, first approved 1 August 1996, revision of 5 September 2024, https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/66d9ada4561701fa1c214e7a/3129NFG.pdf) — an official document of the British veterinary authority, mandatory for export certification to Tanzania, reproducing the requirements Tanzania officially communicated to the UK; this is not a primary source from the Tanzanian authority but a mirror of its requirements on the partner's side. Per this document: an import permit is mandatory, obtained in advance from the Livestock Division, Ministry of Agriculture, Dar es Salaam (the address and ministry name in the document have not been updated since 1996 — veterinary functions have since moved to the Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries, but the permit requirement itself is still current); dogs must be fully vaccinated against parvovirus enteritis and canine distemper, cats against panleukopenia, BEFORE export; animals must be examined by an official veterinarian no more than 10 days before export. Rabies vaccination is separately listed in section 1, "Summary of requirements", with the wording "may be required on arrival in Tanzania" — meaning rabies vaccination (if needed) is done AFTER arrival in Tanzania, not as a condition of entry; antibody titre testing (FAVN/RNATT) is not mentioned anywhere in the document — hence rabiesTiterRequired=false. The document does not state a minimum waiting period after vaccination before export (only the examination deadline of 10 days before export), so prepTimeMonths is left null. The document does not name any banned breeds.

Safety

Climate

24J
24F
24M
23A
22M
22J
21J
22A
24S
25O
25N
24D

Quality of life

Cities

Dar es Salaam

tech hub
5 383 728 residents
$ 538
1 bedroom, per month

Tanzania's largest city and main port, the former capital and the country's business centre (5,383,728 people within the boundaries of Dar es Salaam region — Kinondoni, Dar es Salaam City, Temeke, Kigamboni, and Ubungo combined, 2022 census); East Africa's principal technology and financial hub, and Tanzania's largest seaport.

2 bedrooms $ 729 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 990utilities $ 68,3ticket $ 0,25monthly pass $ 14,9
To buy, per m²: centre $ 1 532 · suburbs $ 1 077
+The country's largest labour market and business centre, its main seaport
+Julius Nyerere International Airport, with direct flights to Europe, the Middle East, and Asia
+The most developed infrastructure among Tanzanian cities for foreign business and IT
−Heavy traffic and public transport that is underdeveloped by regional standards (apart from the BRT bus rapid transit line)
−Humid tropical climate year-round
−High rent by the country's standards

Dodoma

765 179 residents
$ 208
1 bedroom, per month

Tanzania's official capital (765,179 people within Dodoma City Council, 2022 census) in the centre of the country; the seat of parliament and, since 1996, the target of the phased relocation of executive government bodies from Dar es Salaam.

2 bedrooms $ 282 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 381utilities $ 58,0ticket $ 0,36monthly pass $ 13,7
To buy, per m²: centre $ 1 469 · suburbs $ 6 346
+The country's official administrative and legislative centre — the seat of parliament and relevant ministries
+A central location in the country, with a drier and more temperate climate than on the coast
+Noticeably lower rent than in Dar es Salaam
−Some ministries and business life are still concentrated in Dar es Salaam — the relocation of the capital has not been fully completed
−A smaller labour market and international infrastructure outside the public sector
−Weaker air links than Dar es Salaam, Arusha, and Zanzibar

Arusha

617 631 residents
$ 229
1 bedroom, per month

A city at the foot of Mount Meru in the north of the country (617,631 people within Arusha City Council, 2022 census) — the main gateway for inbound tourism to the Serengeti, Ngorongoro, and Kilimanjaro; the headquarters of the East African Community (EAC) and the seat of the UN International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda.

2 bedrooms $ 310 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 419utilities $ 63,7ticket $ 0,19monthly pass $ 26,9
To buy, per m²: centre $ 1 459 · suburbs $ 6 687
+The main tourism hub of the north of the country — the starting point for safaris to the Serengeti, Ngorongoro, and Tarangire, and for Kilimanjaro climbs
+The headquarters of the East African Community — a notable presence of international organisations
+Mild highland climate, without the exhausting coastal heat and humidity
−The city's economy is heavily tied to the tourist season
−A narrower labour market outside tourism and international organisations than in Dar es Salaam
−Fewer direct international flights than from Dar es Salaam (Kilimanjaro Airport serves the region, but with lower frequency)

Mwanza

1 104 521 residents
$ 670
1 bedroom, per month

Tanzania's second-largest city (1,104,521 people — the sum of Mwanza City Council and Ilemela Municipal Council, two municipalities of a single urban agglomeration on either side of Mwanza Bay, 2022 census) on the southern shore of Lake Victoria; the region's commercial and industrial centre, known as the 'Rock City' for the granite boulders on the hills within city limits.

2 bedrooms $ 569 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 484utilities $ 61,5ticket $ 0,23monthly pass $ 9,98
To buy, per m²: centre $ 1 187 · suburbs $ 5 786
+The country's second-largest labour market and its main port on Lake Victoria
+Milder inland climate compared with the humid coast
+The starting point for Serengeti safaris from the west and visits to Rubondo Island
−Noticeably narrower international air links than Dar es Salaam, Arusha, and Zanzibar
−The city is split by a bay of Lake Victoria into two parts (Mwanza City and Ilemela) — travel between them strains the few bridges and ferries available
−International infrastructure (schools, healthcare) is less developed than in Dar es Salaam

Zanzibar City

219 007 residents
$ 282
1 bedroom, per month

The main city of autonomous Zanzibar (219,007 people within Mjini Municipal Council, Mjini Magharibi region, 2022 census), including Stone Town — a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000; the historic centre of the Indian Ocean spice trade and the archipelago's main tourist destination. Zanzibar is governed by its own autonomous administration with a separate immigration service (see work.visaTypes) and separate residence rules.

2 bedrooms $ 282 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 282utilities $ 63,7ticket $ 0,31monthly pass $ 14,3
To buy, per m²: centre $ 1 453 · suburbs $ 11 339
+Stone Town is a UNESCO World Heritage Site with a unique Swahili-Arab-Indian architecture
+The archipelago's main tourist destination — developed tourism and hotel infrastructure
+Maritime tropical climate, direct international flights to Zanzibar's airport
−The economy is heavily dependent on tourist flows and seasonality
−Zanzibar's autonomous status means its own immigration and residence procedures, separate from the mainland's, which need to be checked separately
−The labour market outside tourism and the spice trade is noticeably narrower than in Dar es Salaam

Grocery basket

Bread, 500 g
$ 0,69
Milk, 1 l
$ 0,99
Eggs, 12
$ 1,98
Chicken breast, 1 kg
$ 4,77
Cheese, 1 kg
$ 9,20
Rice, 1 kg
$ 1,00
Potatoes, 1 kg
$ 0,88
Apples, 1 kg
$ 2,32
Coca-Cola / Pepsi, 2 l
$ 1,14
Total
$ 23,0

The same set for every country, so the comparison is fair.

Cost of living across the country

Rent, 1 bedroom
$ 434 a month
Rent, 3 bedrooms
$ 929 a month
Utility bills
$ 61,0 a month
Home internet
$ 36,6 a month
Monthly transport pass
$ 14,5 a month
Single transport ticket
$ 0,28
Petrol, litre
$ 1,12
Cold medicine
$ 4,06 for a week

Country averages. City prices, where collected, are shown above and are more precise.

Indicators

Life expectancy
67,2 years2024
Homicides
3,3 per 100k2024
Road deaths
15,8 per 100k2021
Unemployment
1,6 %2025
Unemployment, ages 15–24
2,4 %2025
Inequality (Gini)
40,52018 · data lags behind
Health spending per person
$ 36,3 a year
Air pollution, PM2.5
20,2 µg/m³2023
Access to clean water
64,6 %2024
Internet, fixed line
37,4 Mbit/s2026

Governance

Political stability
below average · -0,4
Control of corruption
below average · -0,3
Rule of law
below average · -0,5
Government effectiveness
below average · -0,3

World Bank estimates on a −2.5 to +2.5 scale, higher is better.

Natural hazards

Earthquakes
4,4 out of 10
River floods
4,2 out of 10
Coastal floods
3,3 out of 10
Tropical cyclones
0,7 out of 10
Droughts
4,7 out of 10
Tsunamis
3,1 out of 10

Each value carries the year it refers to. “Data lags behind” means this country's figure was collected noticeably earlier than the rest. Natural hazards use one 0–10 scale and are meant to be compared against each other.

Pros and cons

+Three separate residence permit classes (A/B/C) for different grounds — investors and the self-employed, employees, and other cases — plus a separate five-class work permit system (A–E) for different professional categories
+Dar es Salaam is East Africa's largest business and technology hub on the Indian Ocean coast
+Arusha is one of the continent's major tourism hubs: the starting point for safaris to the Serengeti, Ngorongoro, and Kilimanjaro, and the headquarters of the East African Community
+Zanzibar City with Stone Town — a UNESCO World Heritage Site and the archipelago's main tourist destination
−The residence permit and the work permit are issued separately by two different authorities (the Immigration Service and the Labour Commissioner) — both are needed at the same time for legal paid employment
−No separate permanent-residence category between the fixed-term residence permit and citizenship was found: an ordinary permit is capped at 5 years total per cycle, apart from a narrow discretionary exception for major investors
−Dual citizenship is not permitted: a citizen who acquires foreign citizenship generally loses Tanzanian citizenship as a result
−Zanzibar is an autonomous part of the country with its own immigration administration and additional entry and stay rules, separate from the mainland's

Compare with other countries in the region

Other countries in the region: Africa

Official sources

Immigration Act, 1995 (Cap. 54), art. 15-25 — Class A, B, C residence permits
The agency's site, immigration.go.tz, is a JS (React) application without server-side rendering, and its content is unavailable to automated collection. The text of the Act was obtained through a Wayback Machine copy of a tanzlii.org page. The domain answers and serves listings, but closes off document pages with an interactive Cloudflare check — on every method tried (curl, WebFetch, proxy) and on every form of the address, including /source.pdf. The media host media.tanzlii.org, meanwhile, is open and serves the source PDFs directly, provided the full address with its id and hash is known (re-checked 8 August 2026). The subsidiary instrument, the Immigration (Rights and Privileges) Regulations, 2022 (GN 138 of 2022), which could have detailed the classes and among other things introduced a separate permanent-residence category, would not open by any means.
↗
Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, 2015 (Cap. 436) — five work permit classes, Fifth Schedule (fees)
The work permit is issued by the Labour Commissioner, not the Immigration Service — a document separate from the residence permit. The earlier note that "the kazi.go.tz site is unavailable" had gone stale and was imprecise: it is the BARE domain whose certificate does not match the requested host, while the site lives at www.kazi.go.tz, where the certificate is fine; over http the bare domain redirects there of its own accord. Re-checked 8 August 2026. What it holds of substance: a "Work Permits Lists" section publishing monthly lists of granted, deferred and exempted applicants (PDF), while applications go through a separate portal, epermit.kazi.go.tz — "a single interface for the work permit and the residence permit". Two rules from its applicant guideline are not in the Act: a NEW work permit must be applied for while the foreigner is still in their own country, not on the spot; and a renewal application is filed two months before the previous permit expires. Applicants are notified of the outcome by e-mail and message, and on a refusal the Labour Commissioner must give reasons. The guideline sets no standard turnaround. The text of the Act was obtained through a Wayback Machine copy of a tanzlii.org page.
↗
Tanzania Citizenship Act, 1995 (Cap. 357), art. 7-13, Second Schedule — naturalisation and the ban on dual citizenship
The text of the act was obtained through a Wayback Machine archive copy. Re-checked on 10 August 2026: the tanzlii.org domain responds and its front page opens freely, but the page of the act itself (/akn/tz/act/1995/6/eng@2002-07-31) still returns a 403 with a Cloudflare challenge. The root of the site and the document needed here are closed off in different ways - a live root does not cancel out a closed address.
↗
livingcost.org — Dar es Salaam, Dodoma, Arusha, Mwanza, Stone Town
Rent and utilities are from the City Centre row of each city's individual page (livingcost.org/cost/tanzania/<city>), data retrieved 2026-08-03. The source gives prices in USD; in the JSON they are converted to EUR at a rate of ≈0.88 — the same approximation used in this session for livingcost.org data for Kenya and Egypt.
↗
UK APHA — Export of Cats and Dogs from the United Kingdom to Tanzania, Notes for Guidance (3129NFG, rev. 05.09.2024)
The primary source — the Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries (mifugouvuvi.go.tz) — does not publish a dedicated page on importing pets; only the tariff for import/export and holding at a quarantine ground for dogs/cats is officially confirmed (see pets.notes, Animal Diseases (Animals and Animal Products Movement Control) Regulations, GN 478C/2022 and GN 489A/2020 under the Animal Diseases Act, Cap. 156). The veterinary requirements (vaccination, no titre-testing requirement, rabies vaccination on arrival rather than before departure) were reconstructed from the receiving country's rules as seen by the sending side — the British veterinary authority APHA, which publishes the conditions Tanzania officially communicated for export certification from the UK.
↗

Reliability. Collected from open sources: official immigration service sites, statistical aggregators, industry surveys. Updated: 2026-08-24.

This is not advice. This material is for reference and is not legal, tax or immigration advice. Visa rules, tax thresholds and prices change. Before deciding anything, check the official sources and consult a licensed professional in the relevant country.