Kenya

Kenya · Africa · updated 07.09.2026

Kenya admits foreign specialists through a system of ten classes of work permits (Class A-M), each for a different purpose — from mineral prospecting and agriculture to prescribed professions and religious activity — and, since 2024, through a separate digital nomad visa (Class N) requiring a confirmed minimum income of $55,000 a year from sources outside the country. Permanent residence on the general ground — holding a work permit — is reached after 7 years, the last 3 of which must be continuous residence in the country; the spouse of a Kenyan citizen becomes eligible for permanent residence sooner, after 3 years of marriage, but until then the accompanying spouse holds a Dependant's Pass, which does not carry the right to work. Naturalisation takes the same 7 years — by marriage or by permanent residence with knowledge of Swahili or a local language; former citizens by birth who lost their citizenship on acquiring a foreign one have a separate, faster route to restoration. The 2010 Constitution permits dual citizenship for citizens by birth. Nairobi is the region's largest technology hub: since 2007 it has hosted the African headquarters of Google, IBM, Cisco Systems, and General Electric.

Some descriptions for this country are still Russian only: 94% translated. Numbers, prices and timelines are complete.

Entry

Entry rules depend on citizenship. Choose a passport to see the requirement for that one.

Work and visas

Visa speed
The 14-day norm in the law applies only to the final stage of issuing a work permit: under s. 40(6) of the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Act, 2011 (No. 12 of 2011), the Director must issue the permit within 14 days of receiving the Permits Determination Committee's recommendation. The time the Committee itself takes, including the initial review of the application, is not limited by law. A Special Pass is issued for up to 6 months — that is its period of validity, not a processing time. No official processing norm could be found for permanent residence, citizenship, or a Dependant's Pass; the Our Service Charter page on immigration.go.ke opens empty.
Changing employer
Class D (“Employment”) is issued for a specific employer and a specific occupation: the permit is cancelled if the holder has not taken up the stated occupation within 90 days, has ceased it, or is engaged in any other paid or unpaid activity besides that stated in the permit (s. 41(1)(a-c) of the Act) — a change of employer requires a new permit. Class K (“Ordinary residents”) expressly prohibits the holder from taking any paid or unpaid work without a permit of the relevant class. Class M (“Refugees”) is the exception: the holder is permitted to engage in any occupation, trade, business, or profession without being tied to a single employer (s. 41(2) of the Act).

Visa types: Class A: Prospecting and mining — exploring for deposits or extracting minerals in Kenya, alone or in partnership; requires the necessary prospecting/mining licence, sufficient capital freely at the applicant's disposal, and a benefit of the activity to Kenya · Class B: Agriculture and animal husbandry — engaging in farming or animal husbandry, alone or in partnership; requires rights to land of sufficient size and designation, capital freely at the applicant's disposal, and a benefit to Kenya · Class C: Prescribed profession — practising a prescribed profession (the list is in the Eighth Schedule to the Regulations), alone or in partnership; requires the prescribed qualification, capital, registration with a professional body in the applicant's own country, and a benefit to Kenya · Class D: Employment — specific work with a specific employer (including the Government of Kenya or an approved UN/other agency technical assistance programme); the holder possesses qualifications or skills not available in Kenya; the permit is tied to the employer and occupation stated in the application · Class F: Specific manufacturing — a specific manufacturing activity, alone or in partnership; requires a licence/registration, capital freely at the applicant's disposal, and a benefit to Kenya · Class G: Specific trade, business or consultancy — a specific trade, business, or consultancy activity (other than a prescribed profession), alone or in partnership; the same requirements for a licence, capital, and a benefit to Kenya · Class I: Approved religious or charitable activities — a member of a registered religious society working as a missionary, or a member of a company limited by guarantee, or a member of a registered trust approved by the Government of Kenya · Class K: Ordinary residents — a person aged 35 or over with a guaranteed annual income of at least $24,000 (or the equivalent in shillings, r. 19(4) of the Regulations) from sources unconnected with any of the activities covered by the other permit classes; the holder undertakes not to take paid or unpaid work without a permit of the relevant class · Class M: Refugees — a person granted refugee status in Kenya under Kenya's refugee law, and the spouse of such a refugee, wishing to take up employment or engage in a specific occupation, trade, or profession; holders of Class M and their children do not need permits and passes under ss. 34-36 of the Act (s. 41(2)) · Class N: Digital Nomad (introduced by amendment L.N. 155/2024, s. 2, in force since 2024) — a person offered remote work by a company based outside Kenya, or a freelancer working remotely for such a company from Kenya; requires a valid passport, proof of remote work, a guaranteed annual income of at least $55,000 from sources outside Kenya, proof of an accommodation arrangement in Kenya, and a certificate of no criminal record from the country of permanent residence; the holder undertakes not to work for an employer/company based in Kenya · Special Pass (r. 33 of the Regulations) — up to 6 months: for appealing a permit refusal, filing an application for a permit or pass, temporarily conducting business, trade, or a profession, or another purpose at the discretion of the immigration officer · Class P: Staff of international organizations (from the eFNS portal information pack; absent from the Seventh Schedule to the 2012 Regulations) — staff of the United Nations, of diplomatic missions and of intergovernmental and international non-governmental organisations accredited to neighbouring hardship countries, and staff of such organisations working there · Class Q: Professionals in religious or charitable organizations (from the eFNS portal information pack) — a member of a prescribed profession employed by a religious or charitable organisation who is NOT engaged in preaching or in the conduct of religious rites; this is what separates class Q from class I · Class R: East African Community nationals (from the eFNS portal information pack) — a citizen of a member state of the East African Community who is not a prohibited immigrant and intends to reside, work, conduct business, trade or practise a prescribed profession; the portal calls both fees zero

**Collected on 07.09.2026 from two state sources at once.** The Directorate of Immigration Services' own site (`immigration.go.ke`), silent for a month and a half, is open again and turned out to be fuller than the application portal: nine permit classes, three passes and all four categories of permanent residence have pages of their own there with the list of requirements and — above all — with the price, which the application portal does not carry. The eFNS application portal (`fns.immigration.go.ke/infopack/`) remains the only source on classes N, P, Q, R and on the exemption from a permit: the department's site has no pages for these routes. There are now 24 grounds against the former 21. **How completeness was measured.** By three lists of the state itself. The Seventh Schedule to the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Regulations, 2012 as in force on 30.05.2025 knows ten permit classes — A, B, C, D, F, G, I, K, M and N, the last one written in by Legal Notice 155 of 2024. The application portal's guide describes thirteen, adding P, Q and R, which the Schedule does not have, plus the exemption under s. 34(3)(g) of the Act. The Ninth Schedule to the same Regulations — the tariff under rule 59 — lists eighteen items, and among them eight passes: dependant, visitor's, student's, research & interns, transit, for a prohibited immigrant, special and re-entry. Article 37 of the 2011 Act names six grounds of permanent residence, while the department runs four categories. The discrepancies are not smoothed over: every ground is recorded with a note of where it was taken from. **The department takes money other than what stands in its own Regulations, and the discrepancy is a multiple.** The Ninth Schedule in the version in force (the last amendment, Legal Notice 93 of 2025 of 30.05.2025, does not touch the tariff) sets 10,000 shillings for processing and, for issue, 250,000 a year for class A, 200,000 for class D, 100,000 each for classes B, C, F, G and K, and 1,000 and 5,000 for class I. The Directorate's site, the application portal's guide and the 2025 service charter print something else: processing 20,000, issue 500,000 for classes A and D, 250,000 for classes B, C, F, G and K, and 5,000 and 50,000 for class I. There is no legal instrument by which the tariff was raised: the consolidation of the Regulations on `new.kenyalaw.org` is declared to be the latest version and contains no such rates. The figures of the departmental pages are the ones put into the fields — they are what the bill is made out by at the time of applying — and the rates of the Ninth Schedule are named here and nowhere else. **Three state sources diverge in four more places.** Class I: the department's page — 5,000 for processing and 50,000 a year for issue; the 2025 service charter — 20,000 for issue; the application portal — processing «Gratis» and issue 20,000. The interns' and researchers' pass: the department's page — 15,000 shillings a year, the charter — 10,000. The re-entry pass: the department's page and the application portal — 1,000 shillings for a year or part of it, the charter — 5,000. The alien card: the department's page — 1,000 shillings a year, the charter — 5,000. Wherever the route's page and the charter diverge, the field carries the figure of the route's page. **The processing times are taken from the 2025 service charter** — `https://immigration.go.ke/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/DIRECTORATE-OF-IMMIGRATION-SERVICE-DELIVERY-CHARTER-2025.pdf` — and it is the only place where they are published: the pages of the routes themselves say nothing about the time. The charter prints working days: 21 working days to issue a permit and 10 working days to renew it, 7 for a special pass, 15 each for a student pass, an intern's pass and a dependant pass, 1 day for a re-entry pass and for an endorsement, 6 weeks for the registration of an alien and 24 months for permanent residence. The project's time field is in calendar days, so the working ones have been converted by the common coefficient and the original values are named here. Beyond that, article 40(6) of the Act obliges the director to issue the permit within fourteen days of the moment the permits determination committee has made its recommendation — that is the term of the last step, not of the whole examination, and it has not been put into the field. **Citizens of the East African Community member states are issued permits and passes free of charge** — the line «East Africa Community Member States – Gratis» stands on the page of every class and every pass. None of those pages gives a list of the states; the nearest official list is the Seventeenth Schedule to the Regulations as amended by Legal Notice 93 of 2025, where the partners named are Burundi, the DR Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda (Somalia, admitted to the community in 2024, is not among them). That list was drawn up for the exemption from the electronic travel authorisation, not for permits, so it has not been carried into the citizenship field of any ground. **Exemption from a permit: the department's page is corrupted.** On `immigration.go.ke/exemption/`, under the heading «Exemption» and the list of documents, come the rates of other routes — 200 dollars a month (a special pass) and 100 dollars a year (a student pass) — followed by a fragment of the requirements for a student pass. No figures have been taken from that page; the exemption is described from the application portal's guide and from s. 34(3) of the Act. **Part of the requirements is kept by the department in commented-out markup.** On the pages of the application portal's guide almost every permit ends with the items «Copy of the Police Clearance Certificate» and «NDLEA Clearance Certificate (For Nigeria nationality only)», and both are closed inside an HTML comment, that is, are not shown in a browser. They have not been entered into the lists of documents. For the same reason the former wording of class I about a «member of a company limited by guarantee» and a «member of a registered trust» has been removed: on the portal's page those two variants are commented out as well, although the Seventh Schedule to the Regulations does have them. **What did not go into the guide.** The alien card is not a ground of stay but a duty: the department's page says that every foreigner living in Kenya longer than 90 days must register, and charges 1,000 shillings a year or part of it for it; rule 44 of the 2012 Regulations extends the duty to all foreigners aged eighteen and over and exempts service members, public officers with their families, those exempted under s. 34(3) of the Act, registered refugees and those staying in the country no longer than three months on a visitor's pass. Also not recorded are the extension of a visitor's pass (no longer than six months in all, 50 US dollars), the interstate pass for travel to Uganda and Rwanda (free of charge), the endorsement in the passport (free of charge) and the temporary pass for Kenyans. Citizenship was again not examined in this wave: the application portal has a separate section `infopack/citizenship/` with twelve routes, and those are not visa grounds. **About the sources themselves.** The Directorate's site is WordPress; `wp-json` answers with a five-hundred error, but the sitemap is open and lists 120 pages. The class A page lies at `/passes-and-work-permits/`, which does not follow from its name. On two departmental pages (`/exemption/` and `/re-entry-pass-processing-and-endorsement/`) the theme's advertising placeholder is still in the footer — «50% off for lorem ipsum dolor sit amet» — even though the domain honestly answers an invented path with a four-hundred error. The legal database `new.kenyalaw.org` opens from abroad only over IPv4: both curl and fetch hang until the timeout without a forced `-4`.

Long-term visas and residence permits

Permit class A — prospecting and mining

Investment
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 500 000 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class A permit is 500,000 shillings a year. Separately, on lodging, a non-refundable processing fee of 20,000 shillings is paid.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class B — agriculture and animal husbandry

Investment
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 250 000 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class B permit is 250,000 shillings a year. Separately, on lodging, a non-refundable processing fee of 20,000 shillings is paid.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class C — prescribed profession

Work
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 250 000 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class C permit is 250,000 shillings a year, the processing fee 20,000 shillings, non-refundable. The department's page contradicts itself: the «APPLICABLE FEES» block carries 20,000, while the list of requirements on the same page still has the line «Processing fees non-refundable (Kshs. 10,000/=)» — the former rate, matching the Ninth Schedule to the Regulations.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class D — employment

Work
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 500 000 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class D permit is 500,000 shillings a year. Separately, on lodging, a non-refundable processing fee of 20,000 shillings is paid.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class F — specific manufacturing

Investment
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 250 000 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class F permit is 250,000 shillings a year. Separately, on lodging, a non-refundable processing fee of 20,000 shillings is paid.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class G — specific trade, business or consultancy

Investment
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 250 000 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class G permit is 250,000 shillings a year. Separately, on lodging, a non-refundable processing fee of 20,000 shillings is paid.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class I — approved religious and charitable activities

Other
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 50 000 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class I permit is 50,000 shillings a year, the processing fee 5,000 shillings, non-refundable.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class K — ordinary residents

Retirement
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedincome from $ 24 000 a yearfee 250 000 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class K permit is 250,000 shillings a year. Separately, on lodging, a non-refundable processing fee of 20,000 shillings is paid.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class M — refugees

Other
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 0 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The department calls the class M permit free in a single word — «Gratis»; it has neither a processing fee nor an issue fee. It is recorded in the same way in the Ninth Schedule to the 2012 Regulations.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class N — digital nomad

Remote work
term 24 morenewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedincome from $ 55 000 a yearfee $ 1 000processing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class N permit is 1,000 US dollars a year; separately, on lodging, a non-refundable processing fee of 200 US dollars is paid.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class P — staff of international organizations

Work
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee $ 1 000processing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class P permit is 1,000 US dollars a year; separately, on lodging, a non-refundable processing fee of 200 US dollars is paid.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class Q — professionals in religious or charitable organizations

Work
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 100 000 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: The fee for the issue of a class Q permit is 100,000 shillings a year; separately, on lodging, a non-refundable processing fee of 20,000 shillings is paid.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permit class R — East African Community nationals

Work
renewablecounts toward permanent residencefamily allowedfee 0 KESprocessing 29 days
Fee: Both the processing fee and the final fee are printed by the application portal as zero — «KES 0/=».
official source · read 2026-09-07

Exemption from a work permit

Other
renewablefamily allowedprocessing time not published
Fee: The department does not publish a payment for the exemption. The «Exemption» page on the Directorate's site is corrupted: under the list of documents it carries the rates of other routes — 200 US dollars a month (that is the price of a special pass) and 100 US dollars a year (the price of a student pass) — so no figures have been taken from it, and the application portal's guide has no payment at all.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permanent residence for former citizens of Kenya (category A)

Repatriation
family allowedfee 100 000 KESprocessing 730 days
Fee: The issue fee is 100,000 shillings, payable after approval; the processing fee is 50,000 shillings, non-refundable.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permanent residence for holders of work permits (category B)

Other
family allowedfee 750 000 KESprocessing 730 days
Fee: The issue fee is 750,000 shillings, payable after approval; the processing fee is 50,000 shillings, non-refundable. The applying spouse and child of the status holder pay the same.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permanent residence for children of Kenyan citizens (category C)

Family
family allowedfee 750 000 KESprocessing 730 days
Fee: The issue fee is 750,000 shillings, payable after approval; the processing fee is 20,000 shillings, non-refundable. This is the only category of permanent residence where the processing costs 20,000 and not 50,000.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permanent residence for spouses of Kenyan citizens (category D)

Family
family allowedfee 150 000 KESprocessing 730 days
Fee: The issue fee is 150,000 shillings, payable after approval; the processing fee is 50,000 shillings, non-refundable. In the «APPLICABLE FEES» block on the page the issue sum has «per year» added to it, while in the text of the same page it is called a one-off payment after approval.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Permanent residence for widows and widowers of Kenyan citizens

Family
family allowedprocessing time not published
Fee: This ground has no line of its own in the tariff: the department does not publish it as a separate category, and the Ninth Schedule to the 2012 Regulations divides permanent residence into three lines — those who have lost citizenship, «others» and the spouses of Kenyans.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Special pass

Other
term 6 modoes not count toward permanent residencefee $ 200processing 10 days
Fee: 200 US dollars for each month of the period, payable after approval; to citizens of the East African Community member states the pass is issued free of charge. The payment is set for a month, not for the issue: on a six-month pass it is multiplied by six, and the department does not print the product.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Dependant pass

Family
family allowedprocessing 21 days
Fee: This pass has no single price: the department prints three rates according to who the receiving party is to the dependant. For the spouse and children of a citizen of Kenya the issue costs 20,000 shillings, for the spouse and children of a work permit holder and of a permanent resident 10,000 shillings, and for citizens of the East African Community member states it is free. The dependants of persons exempt from a permit are not named in the tariff.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Student pass

Study
renewabledoes not count toward permanent residencefee $ 100processing 21 days
Fee: 100 US dollars a year for citizens of states outside the East African Community; to citizens of the community's states the pass is issued free of charge.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Internship and research pass

Study
term 12 morenewabledoes not count toward permanent residencefee 15 000 KESprocessing 21 days
Fee: 15,000 shillings a year for citizens of states outside the East African Community; to citizens of the community's states the pass is issued free of charge.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Re-entry pass

Family
fee 1 000 KESprocessing 1 days
Fee: 1,000 shillings for a year of the period or part of it.
official source · read 2026-09-07

Programme terms change, and the final decision rests with the consulate or the country migration service. The data is collected from official sources on the date shown and is not legal advice.

Residence and citizenship

Permanent residence after
7 years
Citizenship after
7 years
Language
Swahili or a local dialect — for naturalisation by permanent residence (s. 13(1)(e) of the Citizenship and Immigration Act No. 12/2011). For registration by marriage (s. 11), no separate language requirement is specified.
Dual citizenship
allowed

Absence limits: Permanent residence is lost after 2 consecutive years of continuous residence outside Kenya, except for people who were previously citizens of Kenya by birth (s. 39(j) of the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Act, 2011).

Permanent residence — five grounds under s. 37 of the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Act, 2011 (No. 12 of 2011), each also extending to the applicant's spouse, children, and dependants: (a) people who were citizens of Kenya by birth but lost that citizenship and are not entitled to dual citizenship under the laws of their new country of domicile — with no statutory residence period; (b) the general case, reflected in prYears — holders of work permits for at least 7 years, the last 3 of which before the application must be continuous residence in Kenya; (c)/(ca) children or dependants of citizens, born abroad and having acquired the citizenship of their domicile, or children of registered citizens born before their parents acquired citizenship — with no separate period; (d) spouses of a Kenyan citizen married for 3 years or more; (e) widows and widowers of Kenyan citizens — with no separate period. Citizenship (naturalisation) — under art. 15 of the 2010 Constitution of Kenya, detailed in ss. 11 and 13 of the Act: people married to a Kenyan citizen for 7 years or more and holding resident status are registered as citizens (s. 11), provided the marriage is contracted under a system of law recognised in Kenya, is not for the purpose of obtaining immigration status, and is subsisting at the time of application; the widow/widower of a citizen keeps the same 7-year count after the spouse's death, provided they do not remarry a non-citizen before the period expires (s. 12). Separately, people who have lawfully and continuously resided in Kenya for at least 7 years, the last 12 months before applying continuously, who are proficient in Swahili or a local dialect and capable of making a substantial contribution to the country's development (s. 13). A special case applies to people of Kenyan origin: those who were citizens of Kenya by birth and lost that citizenship on acquiring the citizenship of another country may apply at any time for restoration (not registration) of Kenyan citizenship under s. 10 of the Act — only proof of former Kenyan citizenship and current foreign citizenship is needed, with no residence-period requirement.

Documents

Document certification
consular legalisation

The country does not accept apostilles: documents go through consular legalisation in three steps — ministry of justice, foreign ministry, consulate.

Family

Partner

Right to work
no

The spouse of a citizen or permit holder enters and remains in Kenya on a Dependant's Pass (form 28/29, reg. 26 Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Regulations, 2012): the sponsor — the citizen, permit holder, permanent resident, or another person with lawful standing — confirms that the spouse is their dependant and that their income is sufficient to support the spouse for the entire validity of the pass. The Dependant's Pass does not confer an explicit right to work: the right to employment is expressly reserved by law only to permanent residents (s. 38(b) Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Act, 2011) and holders of permits of the relevant class. No official standard for Dependant's Pass or marriage-based permanent residence application processing times could be found: unlike some neighbouring countries, the Directorate of Immigration Services does not publish a table of turnaround times — the 'Our Service Charter' section on immigration.go.ke loads with no content; the only timeframe found in the law — 14 days for the Director to issue a work permit after a Committee recommendation (s. 40(6) of the Act) — applies to work permits, not to the pass or to permanent residence, so timeline is left empty. A second pass checked two further addresses of the same authority: the official page fns.immigration.go.ke/infopack/passes/dependantpass/ lists in detail the documents required for a Dependant's Pass (form 28, cover letter, proof of dependency and sponsor's income, a copy of the work permit no older than 6 months) and explicitly prohibits work under this pass, but does not state a processing time at all; the official FAQ of the same authority (fns.immigration.go.ke/faqs/index.php, the only subdomain of immigration.go.ke that responds to requests) publishes specific timeframes for visas (7 working days), passports (about 10 weeks), and permanent residence (from 3 months to 1 year) — but for Dependant's Pass and work permits specifically it responds only with 'contact the Director of Immigration Services', with no figure. A full-text search of the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Regulations, 2012 (every mention of the word 'dependant') likewise contains no timeframe in days/weeks. The absence of a standard is thus confirmed by two independent routes, not by a single inaccessible page — the likelihood that one exists but was not found is now low. The spouse of a Kenyan citizen married for 3 years or more has a separate ground for obtaining permanent residence (s. 37(d) of the Act), after which they gain the right to employment on the same footing as other permanent residents (s. 38(b)).

Parents

Partner's parents

Pets

Limit
no limit
Quarantine
no
Antibody titre test
not needed

The authority issuing the import permit is the Directorate of Veterinary Services under the Ministry of Agriculture (kilimo.go.ke), but the domain remains unreachable by every method tried (ECONNREFUSED from IP 41.76.171.226 directly, a DNS timeout from the sandbox, an empty Wayback Machine archive out of more than 5,000 indexed URLs — not a single page on the veterinary service or animal imports; there is no such section on ecitizen.go.ke either). A second pass reconstructed the requirements from the receiving country's rules as seen by the sending side: UK APHA, 'Export of Dogs and Cats from Great Britain to Kenya — Notes for Guidance' (form 2913NFG, revision of 10 November 2023, https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/5bc702eaed915d0b01a1bd0b/2913NFG_.pdf) — an official document of the British veterinary authority, mandatory for export certification, reproducing the conditions Kenya officially communicated to the UK; this is not a primary source from the Kenyan authority but a mirror of its requirements on the partner's side. Per this document: an import permit is mandatory — obtained in advance from the Director of Veterinary Services (Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock Development and Marketing, Nairobi, P.O. Box 34188/Kabete) or via the Kenya High Commission in London. A microchip and rabies vaccination with an accompanying certificate (date, vaccine, manufacturer, vaccine batch) are required. Quarantine (6 months) is not a routine procedure but a penalty for non-compliance: it is imposed only if the animal enters without a valid rabies vaccination (given no later than 6 months before arrival) or transits through a high-rabies-risk country (other than Australia, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden, Ireland) without such vaccination; if vaccinated within 6 months before arrival, quarantine is not required regardless of route — hence quarantineDays=0 for the standard case. Antibody titre testing is not mentioned in the document at all — with proper vaccination it is not required, hence rabiesTiterRequired=false. The animal's arrival (other than by sea at Mombasa and by air at Nairobi) must be reported to the nearest veterinary office within 3 days. The document does not state limits on the number of animals or banned breeds — this does not mean they definitely don't exist, but they are absent from the primary source found, so maxAnimals and bannedBreeds are left as-is (null and an empty list). The Kenyan Embassy in Washington (kenyaembassydc.org/petimport/ — an official Kenyan diplomatic body, not a third country) separately states an import-permit fee of $50 per animal (money order/cashier's cheque); the application must be accompanied by the owner's passport, a valid veterinary certificate/vaccination record, and an animal licence; this is only the permit fee, not the full cost of relocating a pet (air transport, veterinary examination, chipping, etc. are not included), so estimatedCostPerAnimalEur is left empty rather than filled in with a partial figure. Neither of the two sources states a minimum waiting period after vaccination before departure — prepTimeMonths is left null rather than filled in by analogy with other countries.

Safety

Climate

27J
28F
28M
27A
27M
27J
26J
26A
27S
28O
26N
26D

Quality of life

Life expectancy
63.8 years

Cities

Nairobi

tech hub
4 397 073 residents
$ 384
1 bedroom, per month

The capital and largest city of Kenya (4,397,073 people within the city-centre boundary, 2019 census); since 2007 it has hosted the African headquarters of Google, IBM, Cisco Systems, and General Electric — the region's largest technology hub.

2 bedrooms $ 520 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 706utilities $ 45,5ticket $ 0,77monthly pass $ 35,7
To buy, per m²: centre $ 1 533 · suburbs $ 900
+East Africa's largest labour market and technology hub
+Jomo Kenyatta International Airport — the region's main air hub
+A mild highland climate (around 1,795 m) without exhausting heat
−Noticeable road congestion and a lack of developed public transport
−The crime level requires choosing your neighbourhood carefully
−Air quality is worse than the national average

Mombasa

1 208 333 residents
$ 172
1 bedroom, per month

Kenya's main seaport and the country's second-largest city (1,208,333 people, 2019 census) on the Indian Ocean coast; the historic centre of Swahili culture and the gateway to the beaches of the southern coast.

2 bedrooms $ 233 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 315utilities $ 52,3ticket $ 0,77monthly pass $ 39,0
To buy, per m²: centre $ 5 422 · suburbs $ 3 874
+Warm ocean and beaches within the city year-round
+The country's main seaport — logistics and trade
+Rich Swahili cultural heritage (Fort Jesus)
−High humidity and constant heat
−The labour market outside tourism and logistics is noticeably narrower than in Nairobi
−Freshwater infrastructure is weaker than in the capital

Nakuru

570 674 residents
$ 204
1 bedroom, per month

Kenya's third-largest city (570,674 people, 2019 census) in the Rift Valley, by Lake Nakuru with its flamingos and the national park of the same name; the region's agricultural and logistics centre, which was granted city status in 2021.

2 bedrooms $ 271 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 362utilities $ 34,1ticket $ 0,89monthly pass $ 31,1
To buy, per m²: centre $ 1 025 · suburbs $ 1 143
+Proximity to Lake Nakuru National Park
+Growing infrastructure following the recent grant of city status
+Rent noticeably lower than in Nairobi and Mombasa
−The labour market outside agriculture and tourism is small
−Public transport is less developed than in the major cities
−International infrastructure (schools, healthcare) is less developed

Kisumu

397 957 residents
$ 140
1 bedroom, per month

The largest city on Lake Victoria and one of the main economic centres of western Kenya (397,957 people, 2019 census); the region's port and fishing hub.

2 bedrooms $ 189 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 255utilities $ 45,5ticket $ 0,77monthly pass $ 23,2
To buy, per m²: centre $ 775 · suburbs $ 1 144
+A port on Lake Victoria — fishing and regional trade
+One of the university centres of western Kenya
+The most affordable rent among the five cities
−Far from the coast and from Nairobi
−Fewer international flights than Nairobi and Mombasa
−A more limited labour market for foreign specialists

Malindi

119 859 residents
$ 171
1 bedroom, per month

A resort town on the Indian Ocean coast (119,859 people, 2019 census) with a long-established international expat community and proximity to the Malindi–Watamu Marine National Park; one of the main tourism centres of the Kenyan coast.

2 bedrooms $ 225 · estimate3 bedrooms $ 299utilities $ 72,8ticket $ 0,81monthly pass $ 38,4
To buy, per m²: centre $ 4 251 · suburbs $ 3 376
+One of the oldest tourism centres on the Kenyan coast
+Proximity to the Malindi–Watamu Marine National Park
+A calm pace of life and developed tourism infrastructure
−The labour market depends almost entirely on tourism
−Remoteness from major urban centres and specialised healthcare
−The economy depends seasonally on the tourist flow

Grocery basket

Bread, 500 g
$ 0,54
Milk, 1 l
$ 0,83
Eggs, 12
$ 1,66
Chicken breast, 1 kg
$ 6,09
Cheese, 1 kg
$ 10,0
Rice, 1 kg
$ 1,79
Potatoes, 1 kg
$ 0,88
Apples, 1 kg
$ 2,84
Coca-Cola / Pepsi, 2 l
$ 1,38
Total
$ 26,0

The same set for every country, so the comparison is fair.

Cost of living across the country

Rent, 1 bedroom
$ 304 a month
Rent, 3 bedrooms
$ 892 a month
Utility bills
$ 46,9 a month
Home internet
$ 34,5 a month
Monthly transport pass
$ 36,1 a month
Single transport ticket
$ 0,81
Petrol, litre
$ 1,48
Cold medicine
$ 2,81 for a week

Country averages. City prices, where collected, are shown above and are more precise.

Indicators

Life expectancy
63,8 years2024
Homicides
4,7 per 100k2024
Road deaths
28,2 per 100k2021
Unemployment
5,5 %2025
Unemployment, ages 15–24
15,3 %2025
Inequality (Gini)
38,52022
Health spending per person
$ 85,0 a year
Air pollution, PM2.5
20,3 µg/m³2023
Access to clean water
65,6 %2024
Internet, fixed line
22,9 Mbit/s2026
Internet, mobile
45,4 Mbit/s2026

Governance

Political stability
low · -1,4
Control of corruption
below average · -0,8
Rule of law
below average · -0,5
Government effectiveness
below average · -0,3

World Bank estimates on a −2.5 to +2.5 scale, higher is better.

Natural hazards

Earthquakes
2,8 out of 10
River floods
5,2 out of 10
Coastal floods
2,7 out of 10
Tropical cyclones
0 out of 10
Droughts
6,7 out of 10
Tsunamis
3,2 out of 10

Each value carries the year it refers to. “Data lags behind” means this country's figure was collected noticeably earlier than the rest. Natural hazards use one 0–10 scale and are meant to be compared against each other.

Pros and cons

+Ten classes of work permits (A, B, C, D, F, G, I, K, M) for different grounds, plus a separate Class N digital nomad visa introduced by the 2024 amendment
+Dual citizenship is permitted by the 2010 Constitution for citizens by birth (art. 16)
+Nairobi is the region's largest technology hub: since 2007 it has hosted the African headquarters of Google, IBM, Cisco Systems, and General Electric
+Former citizens of Kenya by birth can directly restore citizenship with no residence-period requirement (s. 10 of the Act)
−Permanent residence on the general ground (holding a work permit) is reached after 7 years, the last 3 of which must be continuous residence in the country
−The digital nomad visa requires a confirmed annual income of at least $55,000 from sources outside Kenya
−A Dependant's Pass for a spouse does not carry the right to work without a separate permit
−The rules for bringing in pets could not be confirmed against an official source — the Directorate of Veterinary Services website is unreachable

Compare with other countries in the region

Other countries in the region: Africa

Official sources

Directorate of Immigration Services — Work Permits and Passes
The legal basis is ss. 36, 40, 41, 42 of the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Act, 2011 (No. 12 of 2011) and the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Regulations, 2012. All applications for permits and passes are filed through the eFNS portal: fns.immigration.go.ke.
↗
Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Regulations, 2012 — Seventh Schedule (permit classes A-N)
r. 19(2): “The Director shall… issue a residence or work permit, in any of the classes specified in the Seventh Schedule.” Class N (Digital Nomad) was added by amendment L.N. 155/2024, s. 2. r. 19(4) — the minimum annual income for Class K: $24,000 or the equivalent in shillings. The prescribed professions for Class C are in the Eighth Schedule [r. 19].
↗
Constitution of Kenya, 2010, chapter 3 “Citizenship”, arts. 14-18
Art. 16: “A citizen by birth does not lose citizenship on acquiring the citizenship of another country” — dual citizenship is permitted for citizens by birth. Art. 15 — citizenship by registration (marriage of 7 years or more; lawful continuous residence of 7 years or more). The operational details are in the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Act, 2011 (No. 12 of 2011), ss. 6-21 (the chapter on citizenship) and ss. 37-39 (permanent residence): new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/act/2011/12. Section 8 of the Act requires disclosure of a second citizenship within 3 months, on pain of a fine of up to 5 million shillings or up to 3 years' imprisonment. Section 10 provides for direct restoration (not registration) of citizenship for former citizens by birth who lost it on acquiring foreign citizenship, with no residence-period requirement.
↗
UK APHA — Export of Dogs and Cats from Great Britain to Kenya, Notes for Guidance (2913NFG, rev. 10 November 2023)
The primary source — Kenya's Directorate of Veterinary Services (kilimo.go.ke) — remains unreachable (ECONNREFUSED from IP 41.76.171.226, DNS timeout, empty Wayback Machine archive — see pets.notes). The requirements were reconstructed from the receiving country's rules as seen by the sending side: the British veterinary authority APHA publishes these conditions precisely because Kenya officially communicated them for export certification from the UK. Not a primary source from the Kenyan authority — this is explicitly stated in pets.notes.
↗

Reliability. Collected from open sources: official immigration service sites, statistical aggregators, industry surveys. Updated: 2026-09-07.

This is not advice. This material is for reference and is not legal, tax or immigration advice. Visa rules, tax thresholds and prices change. Before deciding anything, check the official sources and consult a licensed professional in the relevant country.